Florida Department of Health in Madison County
Fees: $15.00 per certificate
Hours of Operation:
Florida Department of Health in Madison County Vital Statistics Office reviews, accepts and processes death records for Madison County events. We also issue certified copies of death certificates in accordance with Chapter 382, Florida Statutes.
Who can obtain a death certificate?
Anyone can purchase a death certificate without the cause of death listed.
Note: since the cause of death is confidential, it can only be obtained by.
- An immediate family member (spouse, child, sibling if 18 years old or older)
- Anyone with an insurance policy or other document that shows their interest in the estate
- A legal representative of the above named (382.025 F.S.)
Death certificates for a person who died prior to 2009 whether in Madison County or any other Florida county can be obtained from:
State of Florida
Vital Statistics Office
P.O. Box 210
Jacksonville, Florida 32231-0042