
DH Form 1961 (New 7/03) 

APPLICATION FOR A FLORIDA DEATH RECORD 

(For County Health Department Use Only) 
 
 
 

Vital Statistics 
________________________________________________________________________________ 

Florida Department of Health in Madison County 
218 SW Third Ave. 

Madison, Florida 32340 
Office: (850) 973-5000 
Fax: (850) 973-5007 

TYPE OR PRINT 

NAME OF 
DECEASED 
(Registrant) 

FIRST MIDDLE LAST SEX 

SOCIAL SECURITY 
NUMBER 
(if known) 

 DATE OF DEATH - MONTH DAY YEAR (4 DIGIT) IF YEAR NOT KNOWN, SPECIFY RANGE OF 
YEARS TO SEARCH 

              N/A 

FLORIDA 
PLACE OF DEATH - CITY COUNTY (REQUIRED) DEATH FILE NUMBER (if known) 

N/A 

NAME AND 
ADDRESS OF 

FUNERAL HOME 

NAME  ADDRESS (CITY) 

 
 

IMPORTANT:  Read the entire application form before completing.  Cause of death is confidential. 
To obtain and use a Florida death record under false or fraudulent purposes is a third-degree felony, 

punishable by the terms and conditions set forth in Florida Statutes. 
 

Fees: If ordering by mail only money orders and checks are accepted 
(Make payable to FDOH Madison County) 

                                                                                                                                                     Quantity                              Amount 
Certified Death Certificates  (Indicate number of copies needed) With Cause $12.00 X  = $ 

Additional Copies With Cause $12.00 X  = $ 
 
Certified Death Certificates  (Indicate number of copies needed) Without Cause $12.00 X  = $ 

Additional Copies Without Cause $12.00 X  = $ 
Total = $ 

MAIL APPLICATION TO: FDOH Madison County - Office of Vital Statistics  
218 SW Third Ave. Madison, Florida 32340 

Applicant’s 
Name 

TYPE OR PRINT 

FIRST MIDDLE LAST SUFFIX 

Funeral Director/Attorney  
as Applicant for  

Cause of Death Information 

LICENSE NUMBER               FUNERAL HOME OF RECORD                                         NAME OF PERSON REPRESENTED 

                                                        Yes    No 

STATE RELATIONSHIP TO DECEDENT 

 
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 

HOME PHONE NUMBER 

(           ) 
RESIDENCE STREET ADDRESS (AND APT.) 

WORK PHONE NUMBER 

(           ) 
CITY STATE ZIP CODE 

When cause of death information is requested, the applicant must state relationship to decedent and provide photo 
identification such as driver’s license, state identification card, passport, or military identification. 

 

[ ] Check this block if certification(s) to be mailed to a different address.  Space is provided on the reverse of this application for 
the name and address of the person to whom the death certificates are to be mailed. 

 



DH Form 1961 (New 7/03) 

 

 

INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR DEATH RECORD APPLICATION 

AVAILABILITY:  Death registration was not required by state law until 1917; however there are some records on file at the 
State Office of Vital Statistics dating back to 1877. 

ELIGIBILITY: 

WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH:  Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a certified copy of a death record without 
the cause of death. 

WITH CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION: Death records with the cause of death information may only be issued to 
the following individuals: the decedent’s spouse or parent; to the decedent’s child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age; 
to any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the 
estate of the decedent, or to any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the 
above named persons.  All requests for certification of a death certificate that includes the cause of death information 
must include signature of the applicant, state his or her qualifying eligibility, or a notarized Affidavit to Release Cause Of 
Death Information (DH Form 1959), which is available upon request.  If after reading the above information you are still 
uncertain regarding your eligibility for cause of death information, call our office (904) 359-6900 extension 9000 for 
assistance. 

 The funeral director associated with the funeral home listed on the death record, or attorney representing an eligible 
person listed above must include their signature, professional license number, and the name and relationship of the 
person they are representing.  If you are a funeral director not associated with the funeral home listed on the death 
record, or an attorney not representing someone listed above as eligible to receive cause of death information, then a 
completed Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH Form 1959) must accompany this request. 

Cause of death information on death records over 50 years old is available to anyone completing an application and 
submitting the required fee. 

NOTE:  Florida clerks of court will not accept a death record with cause of death information when filing probate. 

INFORMATION NEEDED:  A search cannot be made without the decedent’s name and year of death.  If any of the other items 
requested on the front of this form are unavailable, other identifying information (such as parents’ names, birthplace, 
etc) may be helpful if multiple records are found for common names. 

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE:  Applicant’s signature is required, as well as his/her name, valid residence address and 
telephone number. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

IF THE CERTIFICATION IS TO BE MAILED TO ANOTHER PERSON OR ADDRESS, USE THE SPACES BELOW TO SPECIFY SHIP TO NAME AND ADDRESS. 

SHIP TO Name 
TYPE OR PRINT 

FIRST MIDDLE LAST SUFFIX 

HOME PHONE NUMBER 

(           ) 

SHIP TO STREET ADDRESS (AND APT.) 

WORK PHONE NUMBER 

(            ) 
CITY STATE ZIP CODE 

 
Please visit the Bureau of Vital Statistics Website for more information 

www.floridahealth.gov/certificates/certificates/index.html 


